
MINUTES 
PUBLIC SAFETY COMMISSION 
December 17, 2015 
AUSTIN, TX 

The Public Safety Commission met in Austin, Texas on December 17, 2015. Attending 
the meeting were Chairman Cynthia Leon, Commissioners Faith Johnson, Manny 
Flores and Steven Mach. A quorum was present at the meeting. DPS staff members 
and guests were also present. 

CALL TO ORDER (0:00:16) 
The meeting was called to order by Chairman Leon at 10:03 a.m. Proper notice had 
been posted. 

APPROVAL OF MINUTES (0:00:55) 
A motion was made by Commissioner Mach, seconded by Commissioner 
Johnson, approving the minutes from the October 15, 2015 meeting. Motion 
passed unanimously. 

PUBLIC COMMENT (0:01:13) 
-Andrea Brauer- Executive Director, Texas Gun Sense (non-profit gun violence 
prevention organization) -spoke on the topic of open carry and gun violence 
prevention. A letter was submitted to DPS requesting DPS share information with 
licensees regarding restraint holster training via website, correspondence, etc. and 
stated she has not received a response. Chairman Leon tasked AD Bowie to issue a 
written response to Ms. Brauer's letter. 
-Heather Fazio- spoke in favor of the Texas Compassionate Use Act and commended 
DPS for their hard work in instituting rules and regulations. They will continue working 
with the Legislature to include cancer patients and veterans with PTSD. 

DIRECTORS REPORT (0:13:17) 
A. Presentations 
Service Awards 
Bruce Tabor- 40 years 
Eddie Williams Sr. - 40 years 
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Lifesaving Award 
Trooper William Grauzer 
Trooper Katrina Jones 

Directors Award 
Tom Clutts 

National Center for Missing and Exploited Children 2015 Hero Award 
Special Agent Chris Kindell 
Trooper Bradley Vick 

Texas Association of State Systems for Computing and Communications 
Excellence Award 
John Crawford 

(0:30:29) Break 10:32 - 10:44 a.m. 

Chairman Leon acknowledged the following individuals attending the meeting: 
Suzanne Mackowiak - Lieutenant Governor's Office 
Brady Vaughn- Senate Finance 
Libby Elliott- Governor's Office 
John Horchek - Governor's Office 
John Wielmaker- Legislative Budget Board 
Fischer Reynolds- Legislative Budget Board 

DIRECTORS REPORT 
Report on Driver License Outages (0:31 :36) 
At the request of Director McCraw, AD Peters provided an update on Driver License 
outages: 
-FY15 -AAMVA data was down 61.38 business time hours 
-41% downtime thru AAMVA systems (gateway to federal data systems) 
-88.32 hours (59%) of that downtime was due directly to external systems 
-FY15 there were 62 outages originating on 45 different days 
-Texas.gov (ePay system) had 15 outages, totaling 10 days 18 hours 
-DL system had 13 outages, totaling 38 days 10 hours of down business time 
-Archive database had 7 outages, totaling 45.7 hours 
-Currently moving DL Applications to a new infrastructure to be completed by January 
2016 

-FY16 (to date) 24 outages, totaling 19 days 17 hours 
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-Chairman Leon requested another update at the February meeting and Commissioner 
Mach requested an organizational chart depicting how all the systems work together 
from origination point to customer 

B. Briefing on Operation Secure Texas (0:43:44) 
Director McCraw provided a brief on Operation Secure Texas: 
-Integrated network (CBPIDPSILocal Law Enforcement) 
-Boats - 8 Deployed I 5 Pending 
-Tactical Marine Unit Personnel 39 
-Cameras Installed (as of November 2015) 258 I Total 2,115 
-Aerostats- 3 Deployed I DPS pending contract for service 
-Aviation- 14 Deployed I 1 High Altitude Fixed Wing pending I Total Personnel 37 
-Troopers Assigned 589 I Total Personnel1, 138 
-High Threat Criminal Arrests (last 60 days) 2,388 I Total 21,154 
-Public Corruption (last 60 days) 13 Arrests I 44 Arrests Total 
-Drugs Seized (last 60 days) 98,455,689 (DPS only) 
-Currency Seized (last 60 days) $2,801,312 I Total $19,689,342 
-Unaccompanied Children (last 60 days) 8,374 I FY 2015 31,109 

C. Racial Profiling (1:18:45) 
-Texas Code of Criminal Procedure Article 2.132 requires the department to report data 

elements to TCOLE (in addition, we also report to the Governor's Office and the State 
Legislature): 
*Number of Vehicle Stops 
*Type of Race or Ethnicity of Person Stopped 
*Number of Stops Where Race or Ethnicity is Known Prior to Stop 
*Number of Stops in Which Search Was Conducted 
*Number of Searches in Which Consent Was Received Prior to the Search 
*DPS also reports stop results in citation or warning 

-General Counsel conducted a review to ensure the department was in full compliance 
with statute and all requirements 

-DPS has zero tolerance on racial profiling; 40 allegations, none sustained 
-Best evidence we have is video 
-System doesn't recognize "Hispanic" or "Other" when it populates 
-Change occurred in 2010 adding "Hispanic" to the DL system 
-New policy initiated that Troopers will ask Race or Ethnicity and manually input into 
ticket for individuals to review when ticket is printed 

NEW BUSINESS 
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A. Update on SUV Deployment (1 :46:42) 
AD Gonzalez provided an update on SUV deployment: 
-Replaced camera heads with new cameras that provide 180° panoramic view 
-August 2014 fleet consisted of 70% sedans (1 ,548) and 30% SUVs (668) 
-2015 fleet consisted of 64% sedans (1 ,474) and 36% SUVs (827) 
-2016 fleet will transition to all SUVs (Chevrolet Tahoe/Ford Explorer) 
-Ford outperforms the Tahoe in speed 
-Tahoe $43,300 (purchased 350- FY16) I Ford $36,320 (purchased 226 FY16) 
-After 2016 purchases, fleet will consist of 48% sedans (1 ,202) and 52% SUVs (1 ,313) 

B. Report. discussion. and possible action on the following rule proposals for publication 
to receive public comment: 
1. Amendments to 37 TAC Section 14.12 and Section 14.14, concerning School Bus 
Driver Qualifications (1 :56:29) 
2. Amendments to 37 TAC Section 14.52, concerning Texas School Bus Specifications 
A motion was made by Commissioner Flores, seconded by Commissioner Mach, 
approving New Business, Items B1 and B2 for publication to receive public 
comment. Motion passed unanimously. 

ONGOING BUSINESS 
A. Report, discussion. and possible adoption of the following previously published rules: 
1. Amendments to 37 TAC Section 1.129. concerning Fees for Sale of Motor Vehicle 
Crash Reports in Highway Patrol Field Offices (1 :59: 15) 
No comments. 
A motion was made by Commissioner Johnson, seconded by Commissioner 
Mach, adopting Ongoing Business, Item A1. Motion passed unanimously. 

NEW BUSINESS 
B. Report. discussion. and possible action on the following rule proposals for publication 
to receive public comment: 
3. Amendments to 37 TAC Section 15.7, concerning Occupational License (Essential 
Need) (2:00:23) 
4. Simultaneous repeal of current 37 TAC Section 15.23 and proposed new 37 TAC 
Section 15.23, concerning Names 
5. Amendments to 37 TAC Section 15.42. concerning Social Security Number 
6. Amendments to 37 TAC Section 15.55, concerning Waiver of Knowledge and/or 
Skills Tests 
7. New 37 TAC Section 15.63, concerning Out-of-State Examinations and Applications 
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8. Repeal of 37 TAC Sections 15.91- 15.93, concerning Reciprocity in Driver Licensing 
A motion was made by Commissioner Flores, seconded by Commissioner 
Johnson, approving New Business, Items B3 - BS, for publication to receive 
public comment. Motion passed unanimously. 

ONGOING BUSINESS 
A Report, discussion, and possible adoption of the following previously published rules: 
3. Simultaneous repeal of 37 TAC Section 1.231, concerning Procedures for Vendor 
Protests of Procurements and proposed new 37 TAC Sections 1.262- 1.264, 
concerning Contracting (2:05:28) 
No Comments. 
A motion was made by Commissioner Mach, seconded by Commissioner Flores, 
adopting Ongoing Business, Item A3. Motion passed unanimously. 

2. Amendments to 37 TAC Section 1.143, concerning Use of Unmanned Aircraft by a 
Law Enforcement Authority (2:06:54) 
No comments. 
A motion was made by Commissioner Mach, seconded by Commissioner 
Johnson, adopting Ongoing Business, Item A2. Motion passed unanimously. 

AD Nabors advised that a former United States Marine pilot has been selected and will 
be the first non-commissioned DPS pilot. He will be stationed in Edinburg with an 
effective date of February 1, 2016. 

4. Repeal of 37 TAC Section 3.146 and proposed new 37 TAC Section 8.7, concerning 
Prohibited Weapons (2:09:51) 
No comments. 
5. New 37 TAC Section 8.21 and Section 8.22, concerning Unmanned Aerial Vehicles 
at the Capitol Complex 
No comments. 
A motion was made by Commissioner Mach, seconded by Commissioner 
Johnson, adopting Ongoing Business, Items A4 and A5. Motion passed 
unanimously. 

6. New 37 TAC Chapter 12, concerning Compassionate-Use/Low-THe Cannabis 
Program (2:11 :45) 
Comments received and addressed. 
A motion was made by Commissioner Flores, seconded by Commissioner 
Johnson, adopting Ongoing Business, Item A6. Motion passed unanimously. 
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7. Amendments to 37 TAC Sections 35.181-35.183 and new Section 35.185. 
concerning Active Military and Spouses- Special Conditions (2: 15:49) 
No comments. 
A motion was made by Commissioner Johnson, seconded by Commissioner 
Flores, adopting Ongoing Business, Item A7. Motion passed unanimously. 

8. Simultaneous repeal of current 37 TAC Chapter 36. concerning Metals Registration 
and proposed new 37 TAC Chapter 36, concerning Metals Recycling Entities (2:16:49) 
No comments. 
A motion was made by Commissioner Flores, seconded by Commissioner 
Johnson, adopting Ongoing Business, Item AS. Motion passed unanimously. 

B. Update report. discussion and possible action regarding recruitment (2:18:14) 
AD Woodall provided an update on recruitment: 
-100 new troopers will graduate tomorrow (12/18/15) at 10:00 a.m. 
-1551

h Class starts on January 10, 2016 with 160 applicants 
-B-2016 Class begins March 2016 with 16 active and 1,325 applications 
-C-2016 Class begins July 2016 and currently has 1,023 applications 

C. Report. discussion, and possible action by the Commission regarding modification 
and transformation of the DPS organizational structure, approval of personnel 
placements and salaries pursuant to Government Code Chapter 411, Sees. 411.005, 
411.006 and 411.0071 (2: 19:51) 
None. 

D. Report. discussion, and possible action regarding the appointment, promotion. 
ratification. employment. evaluation. reassignment. duties. discipline, or dismissal of a 
member of the Department or Commission management team (2:20:03) 
None. 

E. Report. discussion. and possible action regarding ongoing criminal investigations 
pursuant to Government Code § 411.0041 (Executive Session anticipated) 
To be discussed during Executive Session. 

REPORTS (2:20:09) 
A. Commission member reports and discussion - none 
B. Finance Report- none 
C. Chief Auditors Office - none 
D. Division status reports on activities and action - none 
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CONSENT ITEMS (2:20:23) 
A. Discussion and possible action on appointments of Special Rangers and Special 
Texas Rangers pursuant to Government Code Chapter 411, Sees. 411.023 & 411.024: 
Special Rangers: Robert K. Bratten Jr., Tony R. Fulton, Eric C. Haltom, William H. 
Hogg, James A. Pearce, Ray A. Woods and James H. York; Special Texas Rangers: 
Rolando Castaneda 
B. Donations: 
1.Additional donation items, as needed 
A motion was made by Commissioner Mach, seconded by Commissioner 
Johnson, approving Consent Item A. Motion passed unanimously. 

ITEMS FOR FUTURE AGENDA (2:21:01) 
Update on Driver License Outage- AD Joe Peters 

DATE FOR FUTURE MEETING (2:21 :36) 
Discharge hearing is scheduled for February 10, 2016, and the regular Public Safety 
Commission meeting is scheduled for February 11, 2016. 

ADJOURN INTO EXECUTIVE SESSION (2:21 :54) 
The Commission adjourned into Executive Session to discuss security issues, to consult 
with legal counsel regarding pending or contemplated litigation or settlement offers or to 
receive legal advice on items posted on this agenda; deliberation regarding real estate 
matters; consideration of any other items authorized by law, including personnel 
matters, the Director's action of discharging employees as identified in this agenda; 
ongoing criminal investigations. Executive Session began at 12:36 p.m. 

The Public Safety Commission reconvened this open session at 3:29p.m. 
Commissioners present were Chairman Cynthia Leon, Commissioners Faith Johnson, 
Manny Flores and Steven Mach. 

Commissioner Mach acknowledged Chairman Leon and Commissioner Johnson as 
they approach the end of their terms and hopes to continue working with them in the 
future. 

ADJOURN 
A motion was made by Commissioner Mach, seconded by Commissioner 
Johnson, to adjourn the meeting. Motion passed unanimously. 

7 



The meeting was adjourned at 3:31 p.m. 

Read and approved this Jt. day of ttb-~ 
/ 

/ 

~-· 
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TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY 
ORDER ADOPTING A RULE 

On December 17, 2015, the Public Safety Commission (the commission) by majority vote 
approved rules concerning: 

Organization and Administration 
Title 37 T.A.C. Pali I, Chapter 1 

Subchapter I 
Section 1.129 

The Texas Depmiment of Public Safety (the depmiment) adopts amendments to §1.129, 
concerning Fees for Sale of Motor Vehicle Crash Repmts in Highway Patrol Field Offices. This 
section is adopted without changes to the proposed text as published in the September 18, 2015 
issue ofthe Texas Register (40 TexReg 6287) and will not be republished. 

These amendments are intended to implement the requirements of House Bill 2633, enacted by 
the 84th Texas Legislature. The amendments include criteria for obtaining a redacted or un­
redacted copy of the crash repoli from highway patrol field offices. The proposal also reflects 
minor changes that revise or remove obsolete language. 

No comments were received regarding the adoption ofthese amendments. 

This proposal is adopted pursuant to Texas Government Code, §411.004(3), which authorizes the 
Public Safety Commission to adopt rules considered necessary for catTying out the depaliment's 
work; and Texas Transpoliation Code, §550.065. 

This agency hereby celiifies that the adoption has been reviewed by legal counsel and found to 
be a valid exercise of the agency's legal authority. 

The effective date of the rules is 20 days after the rules are filed with the Texas Register 
Division, Office of the Secretary of State. 

This order constitutes the order of the commission required by the Administrative Procedures 
Act, Govemment Code, Section 2001.033. 

A. Cynthia Leon, Chair 
Public Safety Commission 



TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY 
ORDER ADOPTING A RULE 

On December 17, 2015, the Public Safety Commission (the commission) by majority vote 
approved rules concerning: 

Organization and Administration 
Title 37 T.A.C. Part I, Chapter 1 

Subchapter J 
Section 1.143 

The Texas Department of Public Safety (the department) adopts amendments to §1.143, 
concerning Use of Unmanned Aircraft by a Law Enforcement Authority. This section is adopted 
without changes to the proposed text as published in the September 18, 2015 issue of the Texas 
Register ( 40 TexReg 6288) and will not be republished. 

These amendments are necessary to update the rule with new guidance from the Federal Aviation 
Administration regarding public aircraft operations. 

No comments were received regarding the adoption of these amendments. 

This proposal is adopted pursuant to Texas Government Code, §411.004(3), which authorizes the 
Public Safety Commission to adopt rules considered necessary for carrying out the department's 
work; and §423.007 which authorizes the department to adopt rules and guidelines for use of an 
unmanned aircraft by a law enforcement authority in Texas. 

This agency hereby certifies that the adoption has been reviewed by legal counsel and found to 
be a valid exercise ofthe agency's legal authority. 

The effective date of the rules is 20 days after the rules are filed with the Texas Register 
Division, Office of the Secretary of State. 

This order constitutes the order of the commission required by the Administrative Procedures 
Act, Government Code, Section 2001.033. 

A. Cynthia Leon, Chair 
Public Safety Commission 



TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY 
ORDER ADOPTING A RULE 

On December 17, 2015, the Public Safety Commission (the commission) by majority vote 
approved rules concerning: 

Organization and Administration 
Title 37 T.A.C. PattI, Chapter 1 

Subchapter R 
Section 1.231 

The Texas Depmtment of Public Safety (the department) adopts the proposed repeal of §1.231, 
conceming Procedures for Vendor Protests of Procurements. This section is adopted without 
changes to the proposed text as published in the September 18, 2015 issue of the Texas Register 
( 40 TexReg 6289) and will not be republished. 

The repeal of § 1.231 is filed simultaneously with proposed new § 1.264. These proposals 
reorganize and update the rules governing contracting, placing all rules related to contracts in 
one location. 

No comments were received regarding the adoption of this proposal. 

This proposal is adopted pursuant to Texas Government Code, §411.004(3), which authorizes the 
Public Safety Commission to adopt rules considered necessary for carrying out the department's 
work; and §2155.076, which requires the department to develop and adopt protest procedures for 
resolving vendor protests relating to purchasing issues. 

This agency hereby cet1ifies that the adoption has been reviewed by legal counsel and found to 
be a valid exercise of the agency's legal authority. 

The effective date of the rules is 20 days after the rules m·e filed with the Texas Register 
Division, Office of the Secretary of State. 

This order constitutes the order of the commission required by the Administrative Procedures 
Act, Govemment Code, Section 2001.033. 

" hi' t;" • A. Cynt a Leon, Cuatr 
Public Safety Commission 



TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY 
ORDER ADOPTING A RULE 

On December 17, 2015, the Public Safety Commission (the commission) by majority vote 
approved rules concerning: 

Organization and Administration 
Title 37 T.A.C. Part I, Chapter 1 

Subchapter U 
Sections 1.262 - 1.264 

The Texas Department of Public Safety (the department) adopts new §§ 1.262 - 1.264, 
concerning Contracting. These sections are adopted without changes to the proposed text as 
published in the September 18, 2015 issue of the Texas Register (40 TexReg 6289) and will not 
be republished. 

Senate Bill 20 of the 84th Legislative Session added new Government Code, §2261.253 which 
requires state agencies to establish by rule procedures to identify each contract that requires 
enhanced contract or performance monitoring and submit information on the contract to the 
agency's governing body. The department has determined that such a rule would enhance 
contract management policies and that new rules should be implemented. 

Specifically, new § 1.262 relates to contract monitoring by the contract review board. This new 
rule explains the procedure for identifying contracts requiring enhanced contract or performance 
monitoring. 

New § 1.263, relates to contract monitoring program risk assessment. The new rule articulates the 
criteria for identifying contracting risks. 

This proposal adds § 1.264, concerning procedures for vendor protests of procurements to this 
newly named subchapter, placing all contract related rules within one subchapter. Additionally, it 
clarifies the procedure for appealing a determination by including the depmiment's deputy 
director in the review procedure and makes non-substantive updates to the rule language. 

No comments were received regarding the adoption of these sections. 

This proposal is adopted pursuant to Texas Government Code, §411.004(3), which authorizes the 
Public Safety Commission to adopt rules considered necessary for carrying out the depmiment's 
work; §2155.076, which requires the department to develop and adopt protest procedures for 
resolving vendor protests relating to purchasing issues; §2261.202, which requires state agencies 
to adopt rules clearly defining contract monitoring roles and responsibilities and §2001.004(1), 
which requires state agencies to adopt rules of practice stating the nature and requirements of all 
available formal and informal procedures. 

This agency hereby ce1iifies that the adoption has been reviewed by legal counsel and found to 
be a valid exercise of the agency's legal authority. 
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The effective date of the rules is 20 days after the rules are filed with the Texas Register 
Division, Office of the Secretary of State. 

This order constitutes the order of the commission required by the Administrative Procedures 
Act, Govemment Code, Section 2001.033. 

A. Cynthia Leon, Chair 
Public Safety Commission 



TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY 
ORDER ADOPTING A RULE 

On December 17, 2015, the Public Safety Commission (the commission) by majority vote 
approved rules concerning: 

Texas Highway Patrol 
Title 37 T.A.C. Part I, Chapter 3 

Subchapter J 
Section 3 .146 

The Texas Depmtment of Public Safety (the depmtment) adopts the repeal of §3.146, concerning 
Prohibited Weapons. This section is adopted without changes to the proposed text as published 
in the September 18, 2015 issue of the Texas Register (40 TexReg 6291) and will not be 
republished. 

Pursuant to Government Code, §2001.039, the depmtment reviewed this section and dete1mined 
the reason for initially adopting this section continues to exist. The repeal of this section is filed 
simultaneously with proposed new §8.7. The proposed new §8.7 removes the word "concealed" 
pursuant to House Bill 910, enacted by the 84th Texas Legislature. 

No comments were received regarding the adoption of this proposal. 

This proposal is adopted pursuant to Texas Government Code, §411.004(3), which authorizes the 
Public Safety Commission to adopt rules considered necessary for cmTying out the department's 
work; §411. 062( d) which authorizes the department to adopt rules relating to security of persons 
and access to and protection of the grounds, public buildings, and property of the state within the 
Capitol Complex; §411.062(g) which authorizes the Public Safety Commission to authorize the 
department director to impose measures the director determines to be necessary to protect the 
safety and security of persons and prope1ty within the Capitol Complex; and §2001.039 which 
requires state agencies to review their rules and readopt, readopt with amendments, or repeal a 
rule as the result of reviewing the rule under this section. 

This agency hereby ce1tifies that the adoption has been reviewed by legal counsel and found to 
be a valid exercise ofthe agency's legal authority. 

The effective date of the rules is 20 days after the rules are filed with the Texas Register 
Division, Office of the Secretary of State. 

This order constitutes the order of the commission required by the Administrative Procedures 
Act, Government Code, Section 2001.033. 

A. Cynthia Leon, Chair 
Public Safety Commission 



TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY 
ORDER ADOPTING A RULE 

On December 17, 2015, the Public Safety Commission (the commission) by majority vote 
approved rules concerning: 

Texas Highway Patrol 
Title 37 T.A.C. Part I, Chapter 8 

Subchapter A 
Section 8.7 

The Texas Department of Public Safety (the depmiment) adopts new §8.7, concerning Prohibited 
Weapons. This section is adopted without changes to the proposed text as published in the 
September 18, 2015 issue of the Texas Register ( 40 TexReg 6292) and will not be republished. 

This new section is filed simultaneously with the repeal of §3.146. This section was reviewed 
pursuant to Government Code, §2001.039. During this review, the depatiment determined the 
reason for initially adopting this section continues to exist. Additionally, this proposal removes 
the word "concealed" pursuant to House Bill 910, enacted by the 84th Texas Legislature. 

No comments were received regarding the adoption of this section. 

This proposal is adopted pursuant to Texas Government Code, §411. 004(3 ), which authorizes the 
Public Safety Commission to adopt rules considered necessary for carrying out the depmiment's 
work; §411. 062( d) which authorizes the department to adopt rules relating to security of persons 
and access to and protection of the grounds, public buildings, and propetiy of the state within the 
Capitol Complex; §411.062(g) which authorizes the Public Safety Commission to authorize the 
depatiment director to impose measures the director determines to be necessary to protect the 
safety and security of persons and property within the Capitol Complex; and §2001.039 which 
requires state agencies to review their rules and readopt, readopt with amendments, or repeal a 
rule as the result of reviewing the rule under this section. 

This agency hereby cetiifies that the adoption has been reviewed by legal counsel and found to 
be a valid exercise ofthe agency's legal authority. 

The effective date of the rules is 20 days after the rules are filed with the Texas Register 
Division, Office of the Secretary of State. 

This order constitutes the order of the commission required by the Administrative Procedures 
Act, Government Code, Section 2001.033. 



TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY 
ORDER ADOPTING A RULE 

On December 17, 2015, the Public Safety Commission (the commission) by majority vote 
approved rules concerning: 

Capitol Complex 
Title 37 T.A.C. Pari I, Chapter 8 

Subchapter B 
Section 8.21 and Section 8.22 

The Texas Department of Public Safety (the depmiment) adopts new §8.21 and §8.22, 
concerning Unmanned Aerial Vehicles. These sections are adopted without changes to the 
proposed text as published in the September 18, 2015 issue of the Texas Register ( 40 TexReg 
6293) and will not be republished. 

This proposal is intended to implement the requirements of House Bill 3628, enacted by the 84th 
Texas Legislature, which details the limited use of authorized unmanned aircraft in the Capitol 
Complex. 

No comments were received regarding the adoption of these sections. 

This proposal is adopted pursuant to Texas Government Code, §411. 004(3 ), which authorizes the 
Public Safety Commission to adopt rules considered necessary for carrying out the depmiment's 
work and §411 .062( d-1 ), which authorizes the director to adopt rules governing the use of 
unmanned aircraft in the Capitol Complex. 

This agency hereby ce1iifies that the adoption has been reviewed by legal counsel and found to 
be a valid exercise ofthe agency's legal authority. 

The effective date of the rules is 20 days after the rules are filed with the Texas Register 
Division, Office of the Secretary of State. 

This order constitutes the order of the commission required by the Administrative Procedures 
Act, Government Code, Section 2001.033 . 

A ~~~) 
Public Safety Commission 



TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY 
ORDER ADOPTING A RULE 

On December 17, 2015, the Public Safety Commission (the commission) by majority vote 
approved rules concerning: 

Compassionate-Use/Low-THC Cannabis Program 
Title 37 T.A.C. Pmi I, Chapter 12 

Subchapter A 
Sections 12.1 - 12.8 

The Texas Department of Public Safety (the depmiment) adopts new §§12.1- 12.8, concerning 
General Provisions. These sections are adopted without changes to the proposed text as 
published in the September 18, 2015 issue of the Texas Register (40 TexReg 6294) and will not 
be republished. 

This new Subchapter A is intended to implement the requirements of Senate Bill 339, enacted by 
the 84th Texas Legislature. Entitled the "Texas Compassionate-Use Act," the bill adds new 
Chapter 487 to the Texas Health and Safety Code and new Chapter 169 to the Texas Occupations 
Code. The bill requires the Department of Public Safety to license dispensing organizations of 
low-THC cannabis not later than September 1, 2017 and to establish and maintain a secure, 
online registry of certain patients with intractable epilepsy and of qualified prescribing 
physicians. Subchapter A provides definitions, requirements and standards generally applicable 
to those licensed or registered under the provisions of the bill. 

The department accepted comment on the proposed rules through October 19, 2015. Written 
comments were submitted during this period by Rocco Iannapollo; Jennifer Holland, of 
Foodhandlerclasses.com; Rolando Legaretta; Leslie McAhren, Executive Director of CG 
Corrigan, Inc.; and Adam Socki. 

Included in the comments received by the department were items interpreted as requests for 
information or questions about the meaning of ce1iain items, and not rule comments. These 
items will be addressed by either direct correspondence or website communications. Additional 
information pertaining to the Compassionate-Use Program can be found at: 
http://dps.texas.gov/rsd/CUP/ 

The substantive comments, as well as the department's responses thereto, are summarized below. 

COMMENT: Relating to proposed §12.1, Definitions, Mr. Socki suggests the depmiment 
provide clearer definitions ofthe terms 'production' and 'cultivation.' 

RESPONSE: The proposed rules do not currently define these terms. They are statutory terms 
affecting the scope of criminal prohibitions against possession of marijuana and are not properly 
defined by administrative rule. Mr. Socki does not propose any definitions, and does not explain 
why definitions are necessary. The department disagrees with the comment and will not be 
modifying the proposal. 

COMMENT: Relating to proposed §12.2, Requirements and Standards, Mr. Iannapollo asks that 
the depmiment provide guidance on what information is to be included in a licensee's recall 
notice to recipients of the licensee's product. Similarly, Ms. McAhren suggests the process 
should be "spelled out even fmiher." 
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RESPONSE: The proposed rule currently requires licensees have a plan for recalling their 
products and for notifying anyone to whom the product has been distributed or sold that the 
product is being recalled. At this time, prior to implementation of the program, it is not apparent 
that further details are necessary or appropriate. This may change as the program develops. 
Neither Mr. Iannapollo nor Ms. McAhren provide any specific suggestions for how this rule can 
be improved. The department disagrees with the comments and will not be modifYing the 
proposal. 

COMMENT: Also relating to proposed § 12.2, Requirements and Standards, Ms. McAhren asks 
that the department add language to subsection (b) of §12.2 to require the surrender of the 
terminated employee's identification. 

RESPONSE: It is not clear whether the comment is referring to the department issued 
registration card or an employer issued identification card. The department issued cards need not 
be sutrendered upon termination of employment. As to employer issued cards, licensees are not 
required to issue employee identification cards under the rules as proposed. However, should the 
licensee choose to do so, the manner in which such cards are returned is within the discretion of 
the licensee. The department disagrees with the comment and will not be modifying the 
proposal. 

COMMENT: In the context of her above comment, Ms. McAhren also recommends the 
issuance of an identification card to "everyone who works for the program in the state." 

RESPONSE: The department will be issuing photo identification cards to all registrants. The 
department does not believe this comment requires any modification to the proposal. 

COMMENT: Jennifer Holland suggests the rules require "some sort of training or course so that 
the employee has knowledge of their job duties and requirements." As Ms. Holland does not 
direct this comment to a specific rule, the department will address it in the context of §12.2, 
Requirements and Standards. 

RESPONSE: Training of employees is a matter within the responsibility and discretion of the 
employing licensee. As Ms. Holland offers no training recommendations or reasons for them the 
department believes the current requirements are sufficient and will not be modifYing the 
proposal. 

COMMENT: Relating to proposed § 12.4, Records, Mr. Iannapollo asks the department clarify 
whether the requirement under proposed § 12.4 (b )(2) to maintain records of sales is satisfied by a 
summary or whether the records must be detailed. 

RESPONSE: The proposed rule addresses the retention requirements of licensees' sales records; 
it does not address the fmm those records take. The types of sales records a licensee maintains 
will be determined by several factors, including other rules, local or state regulations, and 
primarily by the licensee's business practices. The department disagrees with the comment and 
will not be modifYing the proposal. 

COMMENT: Also relating to proposed §12.4, Records, Ms. McAhren suggests the requirement 
under proposed §12.4(a) to maintain records for two years may be insufficient. 
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RESPONSE: Ms. McAhren does not explain why the proposed two year retention policy is 
insufficient, but merely indicates some (unidentified) records may need to be kept permanently. 
For purposes of the administration of the program, the department believes two years is a 
sufficient record retention period. The depmiment disagrees with the comment and will not be 
modifying the proposal. 

COMMENT: Relating to proposed § 12.4, Records, Mr. Iannapollo also asks whether the 
reference to "raw materials" proposed §12.4 (b)(3)(B), relating to transportation records, 
includes business supplies. 

RESPONSE: The proposed rule relates to records on "raw materials used in ... the production or 
cultivation of low-THC cannabis." The department does not interpret the term "raw material" in 
this context to include business supplies. The department will not be modifying the proposal. 

COMMENT: Relating to proposed §12.4, Records, Mr. Legarreta notes that the use of the term 
"sativa" in subsection (b)(3)(B) inappropriately limits the application ofthe rule to one variety of 
cannabis, excluding Indica and Hybrid varieties. 

RESPONSE: The rule language mirrors the statutory language and requires the maintenance of 
records on the transportation of the variety of cannabis plant authorized for use in the processing 
of low-THC cannabis. The department disagrees with the comment and will not be modifying 
the proposal. 

COMMENT: Relating to proposed §12.4, Records, Mr. Iannapollo asks that the department 
clarify whether the requirement under proposed §12.4 (b)(2) to maintain records of sales is 
satisfied by a summary or whether the records must be detailed. 

RESPONSE: The proposed rule addresses the retention requirements of licensees' sales 
records; it does not address the form those records take. The types of sales records a licensee 
maintains will be determined by several factors, including local or state regulations, and 
primarily by the licensee's business practices. The depmiment disagrees with the comment and 
will not be modifying the proposal. 

COMMENT: Relating to proposed § 12.5, Address on File, Ms. McAhren states "the 
information needs to be stored in accordance with HIP AA patient privacy and stored on an off­
server (closed circuit) computer." 

RESPONSE: The proposed rule requires licensees and their registered employees maintain their 
current addresses on file with the department; the rule does not implicate patient records. The 
department disagrees with the comment and will not be modifying the proposal. 

COMMENT: Relating to proposed §12.7, Testing, Production, and Packaging, Ms. McAhren 
indicates "testing semi-annually and only testing 1% of the total production may be too 
infrequent." 

RESPONSE: The comment appears to address an earlier draft of the rule previously published 
on the department's website. The proposed rule does not reflect such requirements; rather, the 
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rule incorporates various testing related state and federal standards. The department disagrees 
with the comment and will not be modifying the proposal. 

COMMENT: Relating to proposed §12.8, Inventory Control System, Mr. Iannapollo asks for 
further detail in how the licensee's inventory control system is to interact with the department's 
centralized registry system. 

RESPONSE: The manner in which the computer systems interact is a technical issue not 
appropriately addressed by these administrative rules. The department disagrees with the 
comment and will not be modifying the proposal. 

COMMENT: Also relating to proposed §12.8, Inventory Control System, Mr. Iannapollo asks 
for the specific requirements relating to audit reports . 

RESPONSE: The contents of an audit repmi are generally implied by the inventory control 
requirements provided in the proposed rule, and will otherwise be dependent on the specific 
circumstances sunounding the discovery of a discrepancy. At this time, prior to implementation 
of the program, it is not apparent that futiher details are necessary or appropriate. This may 
change as the program develops. The depatiment disagrees with the comment and will not be 
modifying the proposal. 

This proposal is adopted pursuant to Texas Government Code, §411.004(3), which authorizes the 
Public Safety Commission to adopt rules considered necessary for carrying out the department's 
work, and Texas Health and Safety Code, §487.052, which requires the department adopt rules 
necessary for the administration and enforcement of Texas Health and Safety Code, Chapter 487. 

This agency hereby certifies that the adoption has been reviewed by legal counsel and found to 
be a valid exercise ofthe agency's legal authority. 

The effective date of the rules is 20 days after the rules are filed with the Texas Register 
Division, Office of the Secretary of State. 

This order constitutes the order of the commission required by the Administrative Procedures 
Act, Government Code, Section 2001 .033. 

A. CyntllkLeOI;,Chllli 
Public Safety Commission 



TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY 
ORDER ADOPTING A RULE 

On December 17, 2015, the Public Safety Commission (the commission) by majority vote 
approved rules concerning: 

Compassionate-Use/Low-THC Cannabis Program 
Title 37 T.A.C. Part I, Chapter 12 

Subchapter B 
Sections 12.11 -12.16 

The Texas Department of Public Safety (the department) adopts new §§12.11 12.16, 
concerning Application and Renewal. These sections are adopted without changes to the 
proposed text as published in the September 18, 2015 issue of the Texas Register (40 TexReg 
6298) and will not be republished. 

This new Subchapter B is intended to implement the requirements of Senate Bill339, enacted by 
the 84th Texas Legislature. Entitled the "Texas Compassionate-Use Act," the bill adds new 
Chapter 487 to the Texas Health and Safety Code and new Chapter 169 to the Texas Occupations 
Code. The bill requires the Department of Public Safety to license dispensing organizations of 
low-THC cannabis not later than September 1, 2017 and to establish and maintain a secure, 
online registry of certain patients with intractable epilepsy and of qualified prescribing 
physicians. Subchapter B provides application and renewal requirements for licensure and 
registration under the provisions of the bill, including the application fees, as well as provisions 
for the denial of applications. 

The department accepted comment on the proposed rules tln·ough October 19, 2015. Written 
comments were submitted during this period by Rocco Iannapollo; and Leslie McAhren, 
Executive Director of CG Corrigan, Inc. 

Included in the comments received by the department were items interpreted as requests for 
infmmation or questions about the meaning of certain items, and not rule comments. These 
items will be addressed by either direct correspondence or website communications. Additional 
information pertaining to the Compassionate-Use Program can be found at: 
http://dps.texas.gov/rsd/CUP/ 

The rule substantive comments, as well as the department's responses thereto, are summarized 
below. 

COMMENT: Relating to proposed §12.11, Application for License, Ms. McAhren asks several 
questions relating to product testing, the prohibition of particular substances or contaminants, 
and the disposal of waste water. She also recommends the rules require a fire depmiment 
occupancy certificate and that vehicles have a secure lock box. 

RESPONSE: The comments appear to address an earlier version of the rule previously 
published on the depmiment's website. The currently proposed rules address these issues. 
Testing requirements are addressed in proposed § 12.7, which incorporates various testing related 
state and federal standards. Contaminants are also addressed in proposed §12.2 (o). Fire 
regulations and local regulations generally are addressed in §12.2 (m). Waste water is addressed 
in §12.2 (n). And vehicle security, including the requirement of a lock box, is addressed in 
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proposed § 12.32. The department disagrees with the comment and will not be modifying the 
proposal. 

COMMENT: Also relating to proposed §12.11, Application for License, Ms. McAhren asks for 
greater specificity in the rule requiring a method of screening and monitoring employees. She 
suggests the rule require an annual FBI background check, as an example. 

RESPONSE: The manner in which a licensee screens and monitors its employees is a business 
decision within the discretion of the licensee. The standard applied by the department to such 
decisions is whether the licensee is successful in preventing diversion or theft. As to an FBI 
background check, licensees are not legally authorized to obtain FBI background checks. The 
department disagrees with the comment and will not be modifying the proposal. 

COMMENT: Also relating to proposed § 12.11, Application for License, Ms. McAhren suggests 
the rules should prohibit cannabis production and retail facilities within one thousand feet of 
schools, churches, daycares, or playgrounds. Ms. McAhren cites to the federal Controlled 
Substances Act and related regulations, as they relate to drug free school zones, as authority for 
this proposal. 

RESPONSE: The federal and the Texas state laws governing drug free school zones do not 
create offenses; they are enhancement provisions establishing additional criminal penalties for 
the commission of certain drug related crimes within the specified zone. SB 339 exempts 
licensees from the offenses of delivery and of possession of marijuana (Tex. Health & Safety 
Code §481.120 and §481.121, respectively) under certain circumstances, generally when the 
delivery or possession is regulated under the bill. Therefore the enhancement provisions of 
481.134 would not apply to these offenses committed by a licensee in the course and scope of 
regulated functions. For this reason an administrative rule prohibiting the licensee from 
operating within a certain distance of a school could not be supported by reference to the existing 
laws on drug free school zones, and is not clear that such a rule would be authorized under the 
cuiTent statute. The department disagrees with the comment and will not be modifying the 
proposal. 

COMMENT: In the context of her comment on proposed §12.11 's provisions on an applicant's 
financial ability to suppmi its operations, Ms. McAhren suggests changes to the application fee 
as provided in proposed §12.14. She recommends lowering the fees for the first three years in 
order to "lower the batTier to entry." 

RESPONSE: SB 339 requires the application fee be sufficient to cover the costs associated with 
administering the program. It is not within the discretion of the department to modify the fees in 
the manner proposed. The department disagrees with the comment and will not be modifying the 
proposal. 

COMMENT: Ms. McAhren recommends the addition to proposed § 12.13 of an annual financial 
audit to the list of required items at renewal. 

RESPONSE: Proposed §12.13(b) specifically requires a depmiment inspection prior to approval 
of the renewal application. The inspection includes the verification of all items listed in 
proposed § 12.11 for an original application, including cetiain financial records. Ms. McAhren 
provides no recommended items for her proposed financial audit. The department believes the 
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requirements of proposed §12.11 are sufficient. At this time, prior to implementation of the 
program, it is not apparent that further requirements are necessary or appropriate. This may 
change as the program develops. The department disagrees with the comment and will not be 
modifying the proposal. 

COMMENT: Also relating to proposed §12.11, Application for License, Mr. Iannapollo 
comments on subsection (b)(6)(C)(xii), relating to recall procedures. The rule requires an 
applicant have "recall procedures for any product that has a reasonable probability of causing 
adverse health consequences based on a testing result, patient reaction, or other reason." Mr. 
Iannapollo states that "patient reaction or other reason" is "really broad." 

RESPONSE: The purpose of the rule is to require recall procedures when the licensee 
determines there is a possibility of an adverse health consequence. This purpose would not be 
served by limiting the manner in which the licensee can make such a dete1mination. The 
department disagrees with the comment and will not be modifying the proposal. 

This proposal is adopted pursuant to Texas Government Code, §411.004(3), which authorizes the 
Public Safety Commission to adopt rules considered necessary for carrying out the department's 
work, and Texas Health and Safety Code, §487.052, which requires the depmiment adopt rules 
necessary for the administration and enforcement of Texas Health and Safety Code, Chapter 487. 

This agency hereby certifies that the adoption has been reviewed by legal counsel and found to 
be a valid exercise ofthe agency's legal authority. 

The effective date of the rules is 20 days after the rules are filed with the Texas Register 
Division, Office of the Secretary of State. 

This order constitutes the order of the commission required by the Administrative Procedures 
Act, Government Code, Section 2001.033. 

A. ~~~) 
Public Safety Commission 



TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY 
ORDER ADOPTING A RULE 

On December 17, 2015, the Public Safety Commission (the commission) by majority vote 
approved rules concerning: 

Compassionate-Use/Low-THC Cannabis Program 
Title 37 T.A.C. Part I, Chapter 12 

Subchapter C 
Sections 12.21- 12.25 

The Texas Department of Public Safety (the department) adopts new §§12.21 - 12.25, 
concerning Compliance and Enforcement. These sections are adopted with a change to the 
proposed text as published in the September 18, 2015 issue of the Texas Register (40 TexReg 
6301) and will be republished. The department is correcting a grammatical error and changing 
23.23(d) from "a individual" to "an individual". 

The proposed new Subchapter C is intended to implement the requirements of Senate Bill 339, 
enacted by the 84th Texas Legislature. Entitled the "Texas Compassionate-Use Act," the bill 
adds new Chapter 487 to the Texas Health and Safety Code and new Chapter 169 to the Texas 
Occupations Code. The bill requires the Department of Public Safety to license dispensing 
organizations of low-THC cannabis not later than September 1, 2017 and to establish and 
maintain a secure, online registry of certain patients with intractable epilepsy and of qualified 
prescribing physicians. Subchapter C provides compliance and enforcement standards, including 
inspection standards provisions for the suspension and revocation of licenses and registrations. 

The department accepted comment on the proposed rules through October 19, 2015. Written 
comments were submitted during this period by Leslie McAhren, Executive Director of CG 
Corrigan, Inc. 

Included in the comments received by the department were items interpreted as requests for 
information or questions about the meaning of certain items, and not rule comments. These 
items will be addressed by either direct correspondence or website communications. Additional 
information pe1iaining to the Compassionate-Use Program can be found at: 
http://dps.texas.gov/rsd/CUP/ 

The substantive comments, as well as the department's responses thereto, are summarized below. 

COMMENT: Relating to proposed §12.21, Inspections, Ms. McAhren recommends the 
inclusion of the following additional language: " ... at any time during normal business hours and 
with 24 hours notice and without notice if issues of impropriety are suspected." 

RESPONSE: The current proposal provides for entry by the department "at any time during 
regular business hours." A requirement of prior notice would not serve the department's mission 
of ensuring compliance. The department disagrees with the comment and will not be modifying 
the proposal. 

This proposal is adopted pursuant to Texas Government Code, §411.004(3), which authorizes the 
Public Safety Commission to adopt rules considered necessary for carrying out the depmiment's 
work, and Texas Health and Safety Code, §487.052, which requires the department adopt rules 
necessary for the administration and enforcement of Texas Health and Safety Code, Chapter 487. 
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This agency hereby certifies that the adoption has been reviewed by legal counsel and found to 
be a valid exercise ofthe agency's legal authority. 

The effective date of the rules is 20 days after the rules are filed with the Texas Register 
Division, Office of the Secretary of State. 

This order constitutes the order of the commission required by the Administrative Procedures 
Act, Govemment Code, Section 2001.033. 

A.e~ 
Public Safety Commission 



TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY 
ORDER ADOPTING A RULE 

On December 17, 2015, the Public Safety Commission (the commission) by majority vote 
approved rules concerning: 

Compassionate-Use/Low-THC Cannabis Program 
Title 37 T.A.C. Part I, Chapter 12 

Subchapter D 
Sections 12.31 - 12.34 

The Texas Department of Public Safety (the department) adopts new §§12.31 - 12.34, 
concerning Security. These sections are adopted without changes to the proposed text as 
published in the September 18, 2015 issue ofthe Texas Register (40 TexReg 6303) and will not 
be republished. 

The proposed new Subchapter D is intended to implement the requirements of Senate Bill 339, 
enacted by the 84th Texas Legislature. Entitled the 'Texas Compassionate-Use Act," the bill 
adds new Chapter 487 to the Texas Health and Safety Code and new Chapter 169 to the Texas 
Occupations Code. The bill requires the Department of Public Safety to license dispensing 
organizations of low-THC cannabis not later than September 1, 2017 and to establish and 
maintain a secure, online registry of certain patients with intractable epilepsy and of qualified 
prescribing physicians. Subchapter D provides standards relating to the security of licensee's 
facilities and vehicles. 

The department accepted comment on the proposed rules through October 19, 2015. Written 
comments were submitted during this period by Leslie McAhren, Executive Director of CG 
Conigan, Inc. 

Included in the comments received by the department were items interpreted as requests for 
information or questions about the meaning of certain items, and not rule comments. These 
items will be addressed by either direct correspondence or website communications. Additional 
information pertaining to the Compassionate-Use Program can be found at: 
http://dps.texas.gov/rsd/CUP/ 

The substantive comments, as well as the depmiment's responses thereto, are summarized below. 

COMMENT: Relating to proposed § 12.31, Security of Facilities, Ms. McAhren suggests the 
rules expressly require security cameras with a digital video recorder, and a maintenance log. 

RESPONSE: The proposed rule requires the licensee maintain effective controls and procedures 
in order to prevent unauthorized access, theft, or diversion. While the satisfaction of this 
standard may in ce1iain circumstances require security cameras, the department believes the 
licensee is best situated to evaluate the risks and determine the type and level of security 
appropriate for the facilities. The department disagrees with the comment and will not be 
modifying the proposal. 

COMMENT: Relating to proposed §12.33, Response to Security Breach, Ms. McAhren 
recommends the rule require licensees obtain property loss insurance. 
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RESPONSE: SB 339 provides no express authority for such a requirement. Moreover, such a 
requirement would impose a cost on all licensees that may not be necessary for all. The need for 
such insurance is properly left within the discretion of the licensee. The department disagrees 
with the comment and will not be modifying the proposal. 

This proposal is adopted pursuant to Texas Government Code, §411.004(3), which authorizes the 
Public Safety Commission to adopt rules considered necessary for carrying out the depmiment's 
work, and Texas Health and Safety Code, §487.052, which requires the depmiment adopt rules 
necessary for the administration and enforcement of Texas Health and Safety Code, Chapter 487. 

This agency hereby ce1iifies that the adoption has been reviewed by legal counsel and found to 
be a valid exercise ofthe agency's legal authority. 

The effective date of the rules is 20 days after the rules are filed with the Texas Register 
Division, Office of the Secretary of State. 

This order constitutes the order of the commission required by the Administrative Procedures 
Act, Government Code, Section 2001.033. 

A.C~i2eh~) 
Public Safety Commission 



TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY 
ORDER ADOPTING A RULE 

On December 17, 2015, the Public Safety Commission (the commission) by majority vote 
approved rules concerning: 

Compassionate-Use/Low-THe Cannabis Program 
Title 37 T.A.C. Part I, Chapter 12 

Subchapter E 
Sections 12.41 12.44 

The Texas Department of Public Safety (the department) adopts new §§12.41 - 12.44, 
concerning Compassionate-Use Registry. These sections are adopted without changes to the 
proposed text as published in the September 18, 2015 issue of the Texas Register (40 TexReg 
6305) and will not be republished. 

The proposed new Subchapter E is intended to implement the requirements of Senate Bill 339, 
enacted by the 84th Texas Legislature. Entitled the "Texas Compassionate-Use Act," the bill 
adds new Chapter 487 to the Texas Health and Safety Code and new Chapter 169 to the Texas 
Occupations Code. The bill requires the Depmiment of Public Safety to license dispensing 
organizations of low-THC cannabis not later than September 1, 2017 and to establish and 
maintain a secure, online registry of certain patients with intractable epilepsy and of qualified 
prescribing physicians. Subchapter E provides guidelines for access to and registration in the 
Compassionate-Use Registry. 

The department accepted comment on the proposed rules through October 19, 2015. Written 
comments were submitted during this period by Johnna Carlson, on behalf of Texas Children's 
Hospital; and Rolando Legaretta. 

Included in the comments received by the department were items interpreted as requests for 
information or questions about the meaning of certain items, and not rule comments. These 
items will be addressed by either direct correspondence or website communications. Additional 
information pertaining to the Compassionate-Use Program can be found at: 
http://dps.texas.gov/rsd/CUP/ 

The substantive comments, as well as the depmiment' s responses thereto, are summarized below. 

COMMENT: Relating to proposed § 12.43, Prescriber Registration, Mr. Legaretta states: 
"Physicians cannot prescribe cannabis products; they can recommend; but not prescribe." The 
department interprets this statement as a recommendation to change the proposed rule references 
from 'prescription' to 'recommendation.' 

RESPONSE: 'Prescription,' and 'prescribing,' are statutory te1ms that appear throughout SB 
339. The bill contemplates the issuance of prescriptions authorizing the patient to obtain low­
THC cannabis. Modification of this scheme would require legislative action and is not within 
the authority of the depmiment to affect by administrative rule. Moreover, attempting to do so 
could also have implications for the exemptions from the criminal offense provisions of the 
Health and Safety Code, Chapter 481 relating to possession of marijuana. The application of the 
exemption requires a prescription issued under the provisions of SB 339. The depmiment 
disagrees with the comment and will not be modifying the proposal. 
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COMMENT: Ms. Carlson raises a concern about a potential statutory conflict between SB 339's 
provisions and certain provisions of the Family Code. Specifically, she is concerned that the 
Family Code's provisions relating to the reporting of child abuse may require medical 
professionals to report a child's use of low-THC cannabis. See Texas Family Code, §261.1 01. 
Ms. Carlson asks that the department provide clarification of this issue in the proposed rules, and 
suggests proposed§ 12.44 as the appropriate section for such clarification. 

RESPONSE: The reconciliation of this alleged statutory conflict is not appropriately addressed 
by the department's administrative rules. The department disagrees with the comment and will 
not be modifying the proposal. 

This proposal is adopted pursuant to Texas Government Code, §411.004(3), which authorizes the 
Public Safety Commission to adopt rules considered necessary for canying out the department's 
work, and Texas Health and Safety Code, §487.052, which requires the depatiment adopt rules 
necessary for the administration and enforcement of Texas Health and Safety Code, Chapter 487. 

This agency hereby ce1iifies that the adoption has been reviewed by legal counsel and found to 
be a valid exercise ofthe agency's legal authority. 

The effective date of the rules is 20 days after the rules are filed with the Texas Register 
Division, Office of the Secretary of State. 

This order constitutes the order of the commission required by the Administrative Procedures 
Act, Government Code, Section 2001.033. 

A. Cyntliia Leon, Chan 
Public Safety Commission 



TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY 
ORDER ADOPTING A RULE 

On December 17, 2015, the Public Safety Commission (the commission) by majority vote 
approved rules concerning: 

Compassionate-Use/Low-THC Cannabis Program 
Title 37 T.A.C. Part I, Chapter 12 

Subchapter F 
Sections 12.51- 12.55 

The Texas Department of Public Safety (the depmiment) adopts new §§12.51 - 12.55, 
conceming Special Conditions for Military Service Members and Spouses. These sections m·e 
adopted without changes to the proposed text as published in the September 18, 2015 issue of the 
Texas Register ( 40 TexReg 6306) and will not be republished. 

The proposed new Subchapter F is intended to implement the requirements of Senate Bill 339, 
enacted by the 84th Texas Legislature. Entitled the "Texas Compassionate-Use Act," the bill 
adds new Chapter 487 to the Texas Health and Safety Code and new Chapter 169 to the Texas 
Occupations Code. The bill requires the Department of Public Safety to license dispensing 
organization of low-THC cannabis and to establish and maintain a secure, online registry of 
ce1iain patients with intractable epilepsy and of qualified prescribing physicians. Subchapter F 
provides special licensing conditions for ce1iain military service members and their spouses, and 
is intended to comply with the requirements of Texas Occupations Code, Chapter 55, as 
amended by Senate Bill1307, 84th Legislative Session. 

No comments were received regarding the adoption of these sections. 

This proposal is adopted pursuant to Texas Government Code, §411.004(3), which authorizes the 
Public Safety Commission to adopt rules considered necessary for canying out the department's 
work, and Texas Health and Safety Code, §487.052, which requires the depmiment adopt rules 
necessary for the administration and enforcement of Texas Health and Safety Code, Chapter 487. 

This agency hereby certifies that the adoption has been reviewed by legal counsel and found to 
be a valid exercise of the agency's legal authority. 

The effective date of the rules is 20 days after the rules are filed with the Texas Register 
Division, Office of the Secretary of State. 

This order constitutes the order of the commission required by the Administrative Procedures 
Act, Govemment Code, Section 2001.033. 

A.c'?~h~) 
Public Safety Commission 



TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY 
ORDER ADOPTING A RULE 

On December 17, 2015, the Public Safety Commission (the commission) by majority vote 
approved rules concerning: 

Private Security 
Title 37 T.A.C. Part I, Chapter 35 

Subchapter 0 
Sections 35.181-35.183, 35.185 

The Texas Depa1iment of Public Safety (the depmiment) adopts amendments to §§35.181 -
35.183, and new §35.185, concerning Military Service Members, Military Veterans, and Military 
Spouses-Special Conditions. These sections are adopted without changes to the proposed text as 
published in the September 18, 2015 issue of the Texas Register (40 TexReg 6307) and will not 
be republished. 

These amendments are required by Senate Bill 1307, 84th Legislative Session. The bill amends 
Chapter 55 of the Occupations Code and addresses special application and licensing provisions 
for military service members and military spouses applying for occupational licenses. 

No comments were received regarding the adoption of these sections. 

This proposal is adopted pursuant to Texas Occupations Code, §1702.061(b), which authorizes 
the board to adopt rules to guide the agency in the administration of this chapter. 

This agency hereby ce1iifies that the adoption has been reviewed by legal counsel and found to 
be a valid exercise of the agency's legal authority. 

The effective date of the rules is 20 days after the rules are filed with the Texas Register 
Division, Office of the Secretary of State. 

This order constitutes the order of the commission required by the Administrative Procedures 
Act, Government Code, Section 2001.03 3. 

A. Cyntlita Leon, Chair 
Public Safety Commission 



TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY 
ORDER ADOPTING A RULE 

On December 17, 2015 , the Public Safety Commission (the commission) by majority vote 
approved rules concerning: 

Metals Registration 
Title 37 T.A.C. Part I, Chapter 36 

Sections 36.1 - 36.24 

The Texas Department of Public Safety (the depmiment) adopts the proposed repeal of §§36.1 -
36.24, concerning Metals Registration. These sections are adopted without changes to the 
proposed text as published in the September 18, 2015 issue of the Texas Register (40 TexReg 
6308) and will not be republished. 

The repeal of §§36.1 - 36.24 is filed simultaneously with proposed new §§36.1 - 36.60. The 
proposed new Chapter 3 6 is intended to reorganize and update the rules governing the metals 
program, improve the clarity, and update the rules to reflect all recent legislative changes. 

No comments were received regarding the adoption of this proposal. 

This proposal is adopted pursuant to Texas Government Code, §411.004(3), which authorizes the 
Public Safety Commission to adopt rules considered necessary for carrying out the department's 
work, Texas Occupations Code, § 1956.013, which allows the commission to adopt rules 
establishing minimum requirements for registration and adopt required forms; and Texas 
Occupations Code, §1956.014, which allows the commission to prescribe fees in reasonable 
amounts sufficient to cover the costs of administering the Act. 

This agency hereby ce1iifies that the adoption has been reviewed by legal counsel and found to 
be a valid exercise of the agency' s legal authority. 

The effective date of the rules is 20 days after the rules are filed with the Texas Register 
Division, Office of the Secretary of State. 

This order constitutes the order of the commission required by the Administrative Procedures 
Act, Government Code, Section 2001 .03 3. 

A. C~~) 
Public Safety Commission 



TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY 
ORDER ADOPTING A RULE 

On December 17, 2015, the Public Safety Commission (the commission) by majority vote 
approved rules concerning: 

Metals Recycling Entities 
Title 37 T.A.C. Part I, Chapter 36 

Sections 36.1 - 36.4 

The Texas Department of Public Safety (the depmiment) adopts new §§36.1 - 36.4, concerning 
General Provisions. These sections me adopted without changes to the proposed text as 
published in the September 18, 2015 issue of the Texas Register (40 TexReg 6309) and will not 
be republished. 

The proposed new Subchapter A is intended to reorganize and update the rules governing the 
metals program and to generally improve the clmity of the related rules. 

No comments were received regarding the adoption of these sections. 

This proposal is adopted pursuant to Texas Government Code, §411.004(3), which authorizes the 
Public Safety Commission to adopt rules considered necessary for carrying out the department's 
work, Texas Occupations Code, §1956.013, which allows the commission to adopt rules 
establishing minimum requirements for registration and adopt required forms; and Texas 
Occupations Code, §1956.014, which allows the commission to prescribe fees in reasonable 
amounts sufficient to cover the costs of administering the Act. 

This agency hereby cetiifies that the adoption has been reviewed by legal counsel and found to 
be a valid exercise ofthe agency's legal authority. 

The effective date of the rules is 20 days after the rules are filed with the Texas Register 
Division, Office of the Secretm·y of State. 

This order constitutes the order of the commission required by the Administrative Procedures 
Act, Govemment Code, Section 2001.033 . 

A. e~~) 
Public Safety Commission 



TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY 
ORDER ADOPTING A RULE 

On December 17, 2015, the Public Safety Commission (the commission) by majority vote 
approved rules concerning: 

Metals Recycling Entities 
Title 37 T.A.C. Part I, Chapter 36 

Subchapter B 
Sections 36.11 - 36.18 

The Texas Depmiment of Public Safety (the depmiment) adopts new §§36.11 - 36.18, 
conceming Ce1iificate of Registration. These sections are adopted without changes to the 
proposed text as published in the September 18, 2015 issue of the Texas Register ( 40 TexReg 
631 0) and will not be republished. 

The proposed new Subchapter B is intended to reorganize and update the rules goveming the 
metals program and to generally improve the clarity of the related rules. 

No comments were received regarding the adoption of these sections. 

This proposal is adopted pursuant to Texas Government Code, §411.004(3), which authorizes the 
Public Safety Commission to adopt rules considered necessary for carrying out the department's 
work, Texas Occupations Code, §1956.013, which allows the commission to adopt rules 
establishing minimum requirements for registration and adopt required forms; and Texas 
Occupations Code, §1956.014, which allows the commission to prescribe fees in reasonable 
amounts sufficient to cover the costs of administering the Act. 

This agency hereby ce1iifies that the adoption has been reviewed by legal counsel and found to 
be a valid exercise ofthe agency's legal authority. 

The effective date of the rules is 20 days after the rules are filed with the Texas Register 
Division, Office of the Secretary of State. 

This order constitutes the order of the commission required by the Administrative Procedures 
Act, Govemment Code, Section 2001 .033 . 

AC:f~~) 
Public Safety Commission 



TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY 
ORDER ADOPTING A RULE 

On December 17, 2015, the Public Safety Commission (the commission) by majority vote 
approved rules concerning: 

Metals Recycling Entities 
Title 37 T.A.C. Part I, Chapter 36 

Subchapter C 
Sections 36.31 - 36.37 

The Texas Department of Public Safety (the department) adopts new §§36.31 - 36.37, 
concerning Practice by Ce1iificate Holders and Repmiing Requirements . These sections are 
adopted without changes to the proposed text as published in the September 18, 2015 issue ofthe 
Texas Register (40 TexReg 6312) and will not be republished. 

The proposed new Subchapter C is intended to reorganize and update the rules governing the 
metals program and to generally improve the clarity of the related rules. The proposed new 
sections also are intended to implement the requirements of House Bill 2187, enacted by the 84th 
Texas Legislature. The bill requires changes in payment methods and the use of a cash 
transaction card. The proposal reflects such changes as well as minor changes proposed for the 
purposes of clarification. 

No comments were received regarding the adoption of these sections. 

This proposal is adopted pursuant to Texas Government Code, §411.004(3), which authorizes the 
Public Safety Commission to adopt rules considered necessary for carrying out the department's 
work, Texas Occupations Code, §1956.013, which allows the commission to adopt rules 
establishing minimum requirements for registration and adopt required fmms; and Texas 
Occupations Code, §1956.014, which allows the commission to prescribe fees in reasonable 
amounts sufficient to cover the costs of administering the Act. 

This agency hereby ce1iifies that the adoption has been reviewed by legal counsel and found to 
be a valid exercise ofthe agency's legal authority. 

The effective date of the rules is 20 days after the rules are filed with the Texas Register 
Division, Office of the Secretary of State. 

This order constitutes the order of the commission required by the Administrative Procedures 
Act, Government Code, Section 2001.033. 

A.C~bru~) 
Public Safety Commission 



TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY 
ORDER ADOPTING A RULE 

On December 17, 2015 , the Public Safety Commission (the commission) by majority vote 
approved rules concerning: 

Metals Recycling Entities 
Title 37 T.A.C. Part I, Chapter 36 

Subchapter D 
Sections 36.41 - 36.44 

The Texas Department of Public Safety (the depmiment) adopts new §§36.41 - 36.44, 
conceming Military Exemptions. These sections are adopted without changes to the proposed 
text as published in the September 18, 2015 issue of the Texas Register ( 40 TexReg 6314) and 
will not be republished. 

The proposed new Subchapter Dis intended to implement the requirements of Senate Bill 1307, 
enacted by the 84th Texas Legislature. The bill requires the creation of exemptions and 
extensions for occupational license applications and renewals for military service members, 
military veterans, and military spouses. The proposal reflects such changes as well as minor 
changes proposed for the purposes of clarification. 

No comments were received regarding the adoption of these sections. 

This proposal is adopted pursuant to Texas Government Code, §411 .004(3), which authorizes the 
Public Safety Commission to adopt rules considered necessary for cmTying out the depmiment's 
work, Texas Occupations Code, §1956.013 , which allows the commission to adopt rules 
establishing minimum requirements for registration and adopt required fmms; and Texas 
Occupations Code, §1956.014, which allows the commission to prescribe fees in reasonable 
amounts sufficient to cover the costs of administering the Act. 

This agency hereby certifies that the adoption has been reviewed by legal counsel and found to 
be a valid exercise of the agency's legal authority. 

The effective date of the rules is 20 days after the rules are filed with the Texas Register 
Division, Office of the Secretary of State. 

This order constitutes the order of the commission required by the Administrative Procedures 
Act, Government Code, Section 2001.033. 

A. C~~2 
Public Safety Commission 



TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY 
ORDER ADOPTING A RULE 

On December 17, 2015, the Public Safety Commission (the commission) by majority vote 
approved rules concerning: 

Metals Recycling Entities 
Title 37 T.A.C. Pati I, Chapter 36 

Subchapter E 
Sections 36.51 - 36.60 

The Texas Department of Public Safety (the depmiment) adopts new §§36.51 - 36.60, 
concerning Disciplinary Procedures and Administrative Procedures. These sections are adopted 
without changes to the proposed text as published in the September 18, 2015 issue of the Texas 
Register ( 40 TexReg 6315) and will not be republished. 

The proposed new Subchapter E is intended to reorganize and update the rules governing the 
metals program and to generally improve the clarity of the related rules. The proposed new 
sections are also intended to implement the requirements of House Bill 2187, enacted by the 84th 
Texas Legislature. The bill allows for the imposition of administrative penalties in addition to 
other administrative actions. The proposal reflects such changes as well as minor changes 
proposed for the purposes of clarification. 

No comments were received regarding the adoption of these sections. 

This proposal is adopted pursuant to Texas Government Code, §411.004(3), which authorizes the 
Public Safety Commission to adopt rules considered necessary for carrying out the department's 
work, Texas Occupations Code, §1956.013, which allows the commission to adopt rules 
establishing minimum requirements for registration and adopt required forms; and Texas 
Occupations Code, §1956.014, which allows the commission to prescribe fees in reasonable 
amounts sufficient to cover the costs of administering the Act, and Texas Occupations Code, 
§1956.041 , as amended by House Bill 2187, 84th Legislative Session, effective September 1, 
2015, which authorizes the commission to impose administrative penalties for ce1iain violations 
of the Act. 

This agency hereby certifies that the adoption has been reviewed by legal counsel and found to 
be a valid exercise ofthe agency's legal authority. 

The effective date of the rules is 20 days after the rules are filed with the Texas Register 
Division, Office of the Secretary of State. 

This order constitutes the order of the commission required by the Administrative Procedures 
Act, Government Code, Section 2001.033. 

A. Cynthla Leon, Chair 
Public Safety Commission 



SPECIAL RANGER/SPECIAL TEXAS RANGER APPLICANTS 
December, 2015 

Special Ranger Applicants: 

Name Division Service/Station Retire Years of 
Date Service 

Bratten Jr., Robert K. THP Jourdanton 8/31111 28 years 
Fulton, Tony R. THP Wichita Falls 8/31115 30 years 
Haltom, Eric C. CID San Antonio 7/31115 24 years 

Hogg, William H Aviation Waco 1011115 26 years 
Pearce, James A. THP San Antonio 8/31/09 23 years 
Woods, Ray A. DLD Carrollton 5/31/09 25 years 
York, James H CID Tyler 8/31/96 29 years 

Special Texas Ranger Applicants: 

Name Division Service/Station Retire Years of 
Date Service 

Castaneda, Rolando Texas Rangers McAllen 4/30111 32 years 

Approved 

Approved 

Approved by the Public Safety Commission on: __ /2_r_,l!~:....__ ___ ~ _____,~.:....__ ____ .....::D::::..!a=t=e:'-----'-'l~=\~-'l_1:...J\L!..\ ~~-


